SBL SOCIETY OF BIBLICAL LITERATURE

Dear Colleague,

We are writing to update you about our plan to search for the next Executive Director of the Society of Biblical Literature.

Council will form a Search Task Force, comprised of three current Council members, one SBL staff member, and three at-large members. In accordance with the SBL Policy Manual, one of the current Council members must also serve on SBL's Finance Committee.

The list of criteria or desirables that Council has established for Search Task Force membership can be found here.

- Diversity;
- Knowledge of SBL and its operation;
- Representation from within and outside of the USA;
- Perspective from the last search committee to provide continuity;
- Committed to confidentiality;
- Good interpersonal and communication skills;
- Not interested in being an applicant to the position themselves;
- Forward thinking;
- Administrative experience.

Council members and the staff member on the Search Task Force are elected anonymously by their respective peers. After these members have been named, Council will nominate a slate of SBL members to ensure a balanced and diverse representation on the Task Force, then Council will vote anonymously to elect three persons to serve as at-large members on the Task Force.

In order to conduct a thorough and professional search, we will hire an executive search firm to work with the Search Task Force.

We will ensure that the search process includes listening sessions that are open to all SBL members, so the Search Task Force and the search firm will get a better sense of what our Society needs and what our membership desires to see in the next Executive Director. Moreover, rather than rushing to name the next Executive Director, we may instead name an interim Executive Director to give proper time and consideration to the search process.

The charge to the Search Task Force by Council is available on the SBL website.

As we honor confidentiality during this search process, we will also try to be as transparent as we can. We will provide another update in early September, after the Search Task Force membership is finalized and the search firm selected.

Sincerely,
Christian Brady
Adela Yarbro Collins, President
Stephanie Buckhanon Crowder
Kristin De Troyer
Musa Dube, Vice President
Tat-siong Benny Liew, Chair
Monica Jyotsna Melanchthon
Laura Nasrallah
Hugh Rowland Page, Jr.
Jeremy Punt
Chris Rollston
Dalit Rom-Shiloni
Tammi Schneider, Secretary
Leong Seow