Search SBL

Paul J. Achtemeier Award for New Testament Scholarship

Achtemeier2020 Call for Papers

The Paul J. Achtemeier Award for New Testament Scholarship is open for submissions as of October 1, 2019.


There is a $1,000 monetary award. The awarded paper will be delivered at the SBL Annual Meeting with a panel discussion. No one may receive this award more than once.

Qualifications for Submission

Any SBL member who has received a Ph.D. or Th.D. in biblical studies or a related field since 2009 may submit a paper. This paper should be of publishable quality. It must not have been previously published or accepted for publication; however, a paper may be submitted that is under review by a journal or other academic press if a decision to publish has not been reached at the time of submission. If the paper was delivered at an annual or international SBL meeting, it must exhibit significant revision, as demonstrated by submission of both the original draft and the revision.

Submission Requirements

1. In order to submit a paper for the award, the intent to submit form  must be completed no later than 10 January 2020. All required information must be included in the form, including contact information, SBL membership number, and a dated CV. A tentative paper title may also be included, but is not required. 

2. Applicants must submit no later than midnight (GMT -5) on 1 March 2020:

a. A paper, in English, of no more than 10,000 words including footnotes, and doubled-spaced. A bibliography is not required. If your paper is over the 10,000 word limit it will be automatically disqualified;

b. The paper should be formatted as a PDF and submitted anonymously, that is, an author’s name should not appear after the paper’s title or in any heading; neither should any reference be made to the author within the paper in a manner that would reveal the author’s identity.

3. All materials should be sent to If you do not receive a confirmation of receipt within two (2) business days, please contact Paige Schmidt.
4. Applicants may submit to only one of the Achetmeier, Freedman, and Diamond Awards in a given year.

Failure to follow all submission requirements will result in a paper’s automatic disqualification.

Applicants should consult the SBL Handbook of Style. The subject of the paper is open, but it must advance some dimension of New Testament scholarship. The paper will be evaluated in accordance with the following criteria: 
1. A persuasive thesis that engages the New Testament and demonstrates quality of scholarship and significance to the field;

2. Clarity of expression and thought;

3. Originality and creativity.

Do you know someone that should apply? Spread the word! Click here for a printable award flyer.

The Award Committee



Years of Term

James A. Kelhoffer 1 2018-2020
Janet Elizabeth Spittler 1 2019-2021
Shelly Matthews 1 2020-2022


10 January 2020   Nominations or intent to submit
1 March 2020   Submission of all materials 
30 April 2020   Announcement of Award


2020 Achtemeier Award Winner 


2017 Achtemeier Award Winner

2016 Achtemeier Award Winner

2015 Achtemeier Award Winner

2014 Achtemeier Award Winner

2013 Achtemeier Award Winner

2012 Achtemeier Award not awarded

2011 Achtemeier Award Winner

2010 Achtemeier Award Winner


© 2020, Society of Biblical Literature. All Rights Reserved.