Search SBL

SBL Forum Archive
<< Return to SBL Forum Archive Achtemeier Award 2010 Announced

We are pleased to announce that the 2010 Paul J. Achtemeier Award for New Testament Scholarship has been awarded to C. Kavin Rowe, Assistant Professor of New Testament, Duke University Divinity School. His paper is entitled “The Grammar of Life: the Areopagus Speech and Pagan Tradition.”

Kavin has been teaching at Duke University since 2003, published numerous articles and authored several books. In addition, he has received several prestigious academic awards and has served as a volunteer with SBL for many years. Please join us in congratulating him with this honor.

The Achtemeier Award is to stimulate the finest and most penetrating work in New Testament studies. The award is given to a member who has completed the doctorate and been in a teaching and/or research position for at least two years and normally no more than ten years. There is a cash award of $1,000.00. Papers for this award are evaluated within three categories:

  • persuasive thesis that engages the New Testament
  • clarity of expression and thought
  • originality and creativity.

The 2010 Achtemeier Award Committee consisted of Harold W. Attridge, Elizabeth Struthers Malbon, and Marianne Meye Thompson.

The call for papers for the 2011 Paul J. Achtemeier Award will appear in the Fall 2010.


© 2021, Society of Biblical Literature. All Rights Reserved.