

Jeremiah Coogan

2021 Paul J. Achtemeier Award for New Testament Scholarship Recipient

The 2021 Paul J. Achtemeier Award for New Testament Scholarship has been awarded to Jeremiah Coogan for his paper entitled, "Reading a Quadriform Cosmos: Gospel Books in the Early Christian Imagination."

Jeremiah Coogan (PhD, Notre Dame 2020) is a scholar of the New Testament and early Christianity whose research focuses on Gospel reading and material texts. His forthcoming monograph, Eusebius the Evangelist (Oxford University Press), analyzes Eusebius of Caesarea's fourth-century reconfiguration of the Gospels as a window into broader questions of technology and textuality in the ancient Mediterranean. His current project investigates the literary and bibliographic concepts that early Christians employed to theorize similarities and differences between Gospel texts. Jeremiah is currently a Marie Sklodowska-Curie Fellow in the Faculty of Theology and Religion at the University of Oxford. He is also a Fellow in the Andrew W. Mellon Society of Fellows in Critical Bibliography at Rare Book School (University of Virginia). Jeremiah's Achtemeier paper is forthcoming from the Journal of Early Christian Studies.

The goal of the Achtemeier Award is to stimulate the finest and most penetrating work in New Testament studies and to foster the future of biblical scholarship. The award is given to a member who has completed her/his doctorate within the last ten years and includes a cash prize of \$1,000. Papers for this award are evaluated on the basis of three categories:

- Persuasive thesis that engages the New Testament and demonstrates quality of scholarship and significance in the field
- Clarity of expression and thought
- Originality and creativity

The members of the 2021 Achtemeier Award Committee are Paula Fredriksen (Hebrew University of Jerusalem), Jennifer Knust (Duke University), and Janet Elizabeth Spittler (University of Virginia).

The call for papers for the 2022 Paul J. Achtemeier Award will open by October 1, 2021. We would like to express our sincere gratitude to the numerous contributors for making this scholarship award possible.