

Jesse Ophoff

2022 Society of Biblical Literature – De Gruyter Prize for Biblical Studies and Reception History

The Society of Biblical Literature and De Gruyter are delighted to announce the 2022 De Gruyter Prize recipient is Jesse Ophoff. Jesse was awarded in the category of Textual Culture and Reception of the Bible for his paper entitled "Allegory and Ambiguity in Late Antique Canon Lists."

Dr. Jesse Ophoff is a research fellow at the MF Norwegian School of Theology, Religion and Society. His work focuses on the development of Christianity in Late Antiquity with an emphasis on the Latin West. He is particularly interested in the intersection of ideas through diverse media including texts, manuscripts, and images. Ophoff's recently defended dissertation, titled *Navigating the Gospel in Latin Late Antiquity*, tracks the Latin term *evangelium* through seven key texts ranging from Hilary of Poitiers' *De Trinitate* to Gregory the Great's *Regula Pastoralis*. In it he highlights the enduring importance of gospel language for Christian authors and demonstrates the ways standard lexicographical models obscure linguistic development by fixating on a terms origins and most literal uses.

He is an active member of several research groups and societies including the Society of Biblical Literature, MOVE, and Authoritative Texts and Their Reception, and served as the History Section leader for his faculty from 2021 to 2022. In addition to his research activity, Dr. Ophoff teaches at the bachelor and master levels on Christianity, material religion, religion and violence, and academic writing. You can contact him by email at jesse.ophoff@mf.no or follow him on Twitter

The prize includes a cash prize of \$750. The awarded papers will be published in the *Journal of the Bible and its Reception*. In addition to being published, the awarded papers will be delivered at the SBL Annual Meeting followed by a panel discussion. The subject of the paper is open, but it must advance some dimension of reception history scholarship. The papers are evaluated in accordance with the following criteria:

- Quality, originality and creativity.
- Promises an important and original contribution.
- Persuasive thesis with clarity of expression and thought, engaging and well written.

The members of the 2022 De Gruyter Award Committee are Katharine J. Dell, Amy Easton-Flake, Emerson B. Powery, and Christopher Rowland.